Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

International Artists/Animators: Visa Questions/Discussion

Hey AnimState/Tea Time!

I had someone hit me up regarding Visa questions, and I thought that this would be a great place to start a larger discussion. I am an international animator currently working in the States, and I'm sure there are many more out there who need questions answered and/or could provide insight to others, so here's a dedicated thread that could hopefully become a helpful resource in the future.

--Lana B

Comments

• edited September 7

Hi guys,

my name is liad, i am 27 years old from israel.
    i studied animation in isreal and left on my third year here in order to pursue my american dream becoming a 3d character animator. since i left my university i have been working in 3 jobs here for 2 years now to save the required money.
    dream is coming close but researching about school, visas and other stuff made me contamplating about difficult decisions and hope you can help me guys -Sheridan (Canada) vs AAU (USA)

visa wise:
    USA (AAU):
    international students get student visa whice allow cpt, opt and hopefully h1b if get sponsership and HOPEFULLY get picked in the h1b lottery. if not, get kicked back to my country...bummer...
    Canada:
    student visa allow open work permit after graduating in the length of the the education - 4 years means 4 years after graduating.
    Also, after graduating, you are allowed to apply to PR - PARMANENT RESIDENCE and after 2 years get a Candian citizenship and passport and then TN status whice is temporary visa for USA, and stiil you can apply every year for H1B.

To conclude: